Me Made May and another attempt at blogging

‘I, Susanne, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear at least one handmade garment at least 3 days a week for the duration of May 2013.’ Additionally, I pledge to finish at least 3 projects during May.

And with that, I’m making another attempt at blogging. I think this is my third try, not counting the dark days of Live Journal back in high school. But I’m hoping that Me-Made-May will give me the motivation to get started here, and I think blogging might help me bridge the gap between planning knitting and sewing projects and actually executing them (note to self: buying a pattern or eyeing fabric on the internet isn’t the same as adding a garment to your wardrobe).

Since it’s my first time, I’m setting the bar relatively low – 3 days a week, and finishing 3 more garments. Right now my me-made options are limited to 2 skirts, 1 dress, 1 t-shirt, 1 sweatshirt, some pajama pants, and assorted sweaters, scarves and socks. Plus my wedding dress, which isn’t exactly everyday wear. So even though everything I’ve made fits pretty well into my daily uniform of cardigan, knit top and jeans or a print skirt, the options are limited. How many days a week can you wear a green cardigan, anyway? (I have 4 me-made and 1 store-bought, all different shades).

Anyway, here is Day 1 of Me-Made-May:

Me Made May, day 1

Cardigan: Tangled Yoke, raveled here. I made this back in 2009 and I wear it a lot more now than I ever did then.

Top: New Look 6940. I used a really floppy rayon jersey from the clearance section at Joann. The construction of this shirt means the stretch goes both directions, and it’s sagging. I’d make it again in a slightly firmer fabric, though. It was also my first time sewing stretchy fabric, so the finishing leaves a lot to be desired!

Leave a Reply

