Summer is for making things?

When it comes to knitting and sewing, I’m full of ideas and pretty lousy at the follow-through. There are 75 patterns in my Ravelry queue – and that’s after purging about 50% of it a few months ago – and nearly 200 on my sewing board on Pinterest, mostly patterns I want to make. I’m also turning into quite a pattern hoarder: 416 patterns in the Rav library and a growing pile of pattern envelopes, PDFs and Japanese books in my sewing collection. Then there’s the stash… I recently sorted my fabric and I have two big tote bags of fabric destined to become garments, and about six sweaters worth of yarn, plus all of the single skeins and leftovers.

One reason I started this blog was to try to give myself some accountability in my projects. If I join a sew-along or Me Made May, I have to finish, right? With that in mind, here are the next few projects I want to dig into, not including the ones that are already in progress. Patterns and materials are all lined up, I just need a nudge in the right direction:

1) Beatnik sweater by Norah Gaughan, in Berroco Remix in “strawberry.” I’ve had the yarn for two years and it’s been on the top of my queue for even longer, but I haven’t even swatched! As soon as I finish the second sleeve on my current project, this is what I’m pulling out of the closet.

Beatnik – Knitty

2) View G from Stylish Dress Book: Clothing for Everyday Wear, in this blue bicycle print from Girl Charlee. I’d already been eyeing this pattern when I saw Tea’s beautiful version on Kollabora. It’s always nice when someone else has made the pattern work before you attack it.

Retro Bicycles fabric – Girl Charlee

3) The Bombshell Swimsuit by Closet Case Files, in black-and-taupe polka dots from Girl Charlee. This one has a bit of a deadline, since I’m going to Seattle and Michigan in three weeks and I don’t have a wearable bathing suit. If I don’t finish before I leave for Seattle I’ll just take it with me and finish on my mom’s old Elna, but I have to finish it by August 1 or no beach for me.

Bombshell – Closet Case Files

4) McCall’s 6600 in black and white Anna Sui cotton-silk twill from Mood. My fabric is a pretty bold graphic floral, so the whole thing will be a little more “statement-y” than I’m used to, but I love Clare’s version at Sew Dixie Lou and her fabric is even wilder than mine!

M6600

Leave a Reply

