Spring Break is for making things?

I guess I’m just not much of a blogger, since it’s been nearly a year AGAIN. I choose to blame grad school, which will be over in August – hopefully that will mean more time for making things, if not writing about them.

Today is the last day of my spring break, and as always I had grand crafting plans. I’ve been plugging away at the Beatnik sweater, and I’m actually halfway done with the second sleeve so maybe one day it will really be done. Here’s a progress shot from January (!).

#sundaysweaterkal with kitty, tea and Downton Abbey

A post shared by Susanne (@chezalouette) on

And the other day I whipped up an Aberdeen tunic, from Seamwork magazine! As promised, it only took a few hours, and it was a good instant-gratification sewing project after giving up on so many poorly executed or ill-fitting things. Plus, bat-wing tops are awesome!

Like everyone else in the entire world, I also read Marie Kondo’s book about decluttering. I got rid of 3 bags of clothes and 1 bag of yarn and fabric scraps, and generally did some good sorting. This process, in conjunction with finally doing the first few steps of the Wardrobe Architect project from the Coletterie, gave me a little more clarity about what I should actually DO with all of my yarn and fabric… more on that another time.

Leave a Reply

